Pyjama Party!

After a long week (fancy taking 26 4 year olds on London buses anyone?) and the seriously gloomy weather, today was a day for sewing. And what better comfort-sewing than some new jim-jams?

Karen at Did You Make That? has been hosting a pyjama sewalong which has been popping up in my Google Reader account, and today was the day of the big party so I thought I’d join in with the fun.

I had a rummage through my stash but there was nothing suitable in the correct amount, so I took a bus ride down to Fabrics Galore in Battersea – when I lived in SW London this is where I bought the fabric for my first dress-making adventure – and may have got a little bit distracted by all the pretty fabrics.

French seams and sewn-in elastic waist band

What book is on your bedside table?
Last week I was listening to a discussion about sweets in books on Radio 4, so I picked up Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dreams in the library this week (a brand new, unread library book!)

What was your favourite (childhood) bed time cuddly toy?
Percival the penguin has already had his fifteen minutes of fame on here, so I shall introduce you to Flopsy the rabbit. I got Flopsy for my birthday when I was ten or eleven, which makes her a grown-up sixteen years old now. Over the years she has moulted a lot and been so well hugged that she is now molded into the perfect huggable shape – as much as I love Percival, Flopsy is still the perfect shape to cuddle to sleep.

What is your favourite sewing pattern?
I bought some raspberry jersey to make a matching pj top, but the colour is so scrummy that I think I might have to jazz it up and wear it during the day. My favourite go-to pattern for jersey is my tatty and much-modified Sadie vest pattern from BurdaStyle – it fits, it is quick to sew, and there are lots of ways I can change it – but today I decided to use a one-piece kimono tee (also from BurdaStyle).

Purple – check!
Polka dots – check!
Pyjamas on a cold wet evening – check!
I just need to wait for my Jammie Dodgers to be ready (well the oven was on for dinner, so I’m saving the planet…)

p.s.

14 thoughts on “Pyjama Party!

    • I haven’t been there for years since moving north and discovering Goldhawk Road, but it was really nice, so many lovely things to choose. My “I’ll get cash on Friday to last all weekend” plan failed.

  1. Pingback: Liberty Love | Another Little Crafty Creation

  2. Pingback: Review of 2012 | Another Little Crafty Creation

  3. Pingback: Me Made May 2013 – Week 2 | Another Little Crafty Creation

Leave a Reply

