Crafty Resolution 2012 update

It feels like years ago, but in January I set my self a project for the year – to crochet two squares a week so by New Year’s Eve I have a full sized blanket to snuggle under. Well, due to bad time management (and too much couture sewing) I got a bit behind schedule, but I am pleased to say I am back on track.

January, February, March, April… first 40 squares.

Looking at all the squares together I think I need to make some more back-and-forth squares since most of them are crocheted in the round (although it is much easier to get the correct size when going round in circles*). I also think I have enough regular granny sqaures for now.

The square above was plain until I added a small flower motif. I definitely need to so more of these now I have two books to teach me how to make a range of flowers and butterflies.

After filling a bag with squares I thought it was probably time to start putting things together so I don’t go crazy in December. I started in the centre with some carefully chosen squares, and am now adding the rest in rounds semi-randomly. I am hoping that any future squares will look right, or if not then I can plan future crocheting accordingly.

Sewing the blanket together

I’ve just read my original post and it mentioned “using up yarn in my stash” – oops, that is one major FAIL already! Popping into a shop and buying just a couple of balls of yarn seems so much easier to justify than buying fabric on a whim. (see above picture and the bag of yarn that is bigger than when I started the project, although lots were sale bargains, honestly!)

Anyway, I am off to get some bias-binding to finish something I am super excited about 😀 Fingers crossed it will be finished to show you tonight… And fingers-crossed I wont get tempted by any yarn on my way!

*technical information – each square measures exactly “the size of my red and white polka dot box lid.” I had to throw a couple of squares into a hot washing machine to felt them down to size, but the texture is great.

3 thoughts on “Crafty Resolution 2012 update

  1. I started the year with asimilar resolution but have fallen behind – you’ve inspired me to catch up!
    And…my stash (es, because it’s not just wool, material for patchwork, too.) have grown, too, but they were all bargains too good to miss :0 That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

  2. Good going! 40 squares is no mean feat – give yourself a pat on the back! I made a resolution to join the crochet a block a month on Ravelry but I dropped out before starting 😦

  3. Pingback: Work in progress: Birthday Butterflies | Another Little Crafty Creation

Leave a comment