A is for… (or How to Start Designing Your Own Crochet)

I crocheted a letter A, thinking I was going to applique it onto a square for my blanket. However I then remembered that the best thing about crochet is that you can crochet everything together, without the need for needles.

From A to…?

So I decided to design my own pattern to go from A to a square. Here is what I did:

1. Draw around the crocheted motif on squared or graph paper (I used a page in a French exercise book that is a cross between lines and graph paper)

Draw

2. Draw the final shape around your motif.

3. Calculate how many stitches your final row will have. I measured the line I had drawn with the crochet on the motif, and counted how many stitches filled the space between important points (and checked they all added up to the same edge length.

Measure

4. Play around with filling the blank space, using different length lines for different stitches. i drew little dashes for every stitch I knew I needed to have, changing them into specific stitches as I went along. I drew each round in a different colour.

Plan then crochet (sorry for the horrible picture)

5. Crochet your design, noting down exactly how many stitches used if different from what was planned (use your drawing as a guide, not a strict rule if it isn’t quite right).

6. Does it look right? If not, just unravel and try again, repeating steps (3) 4 and 5 until you are happy with the final result.

A is for…

Do you like the *ahem* deliberate decision to have 2 colours in the final row? I might actually make a deliberate decision to do this on a future square!

One thought on “A is for… (or How to Start Designing Your Own Crochet)

  1. Pingback: Completed: Crafty Resolution 2012 | Another Little Crafty Creation

Leave a Reply

