Summertime (and the sewing is easy) Skirt [or How to make… your own maxi skirt]

Summer is officially here in the UK and today is supposedly the hottest day of the year (so far). With all the rain we have had lately I had almost given up on my summer sewing, but today felt like whipping up a quick and easy make (I am too white and British to be out sunbathing in this weather).

I bought this fabric from Classic Textiles with the intention of making a little summer dress, but I thought I would probably get more use from separates. Then I saw some floaty pyjama-style trousers in this months Burda Style magazine, but tracing a pattern and cutting it out and doing a toile seemed like too much work. So I took my tried-and-tested skirt waistband, added 2 big rectangles and voila.*

Plenty of fabric to sit cross-legged in the park!

Here is how I made the pattern:

It is pretty much the waistband of your favourite skirt, combined with two huge gathered rectangles (I tapered the corners so I wouldn’t have quite so much fabric around my hips). Simple. Gather the skirt panels and attach to the waist bands, insert a zip in the back seam, and sew up the side seams. I made a facing for the waistband, sewed them right-sides together at the waist, turned them right-sides out and top-stitched them.

* Okay, the waistband was too loose with the weight of the skirt, so I made a faux-button closure to pinch the excess out, and added a band around the hem to make it quicker to sew.

One thought on “Summertime (and the sewing is easy) Skirt [or How to make… your own maxi skirt]

  1. Pingback: Review of 2012 | Another Little Crafty Creation

Leave a Reply

