Presents!

I got some lovely crafty gifts for Christmas, however I have been blind sighted by my blanket since (only 2 border rows to go, so hopefully will be finished before the weekend is over) and have neglected to show you all what I received.

rotary

The big thing I asked for (and I mean big, it was a mission carrying it on the train home) was a rotary cutter and cutting mat. I have had a bit of a play with it and my accuracy is improving, but I need to practice how much pressure I need to use before I try cutting anything important.

yarn 242

Another large parcel under the tree was two big balls of soft chunky turquoise-blue-purple variegated yarn. I have no idea what I will use it for, but luckily I got some lovely books to provide inspiration.

books 232

The first book, Knitalong, was from a colleague who, when giving it to me, worried what she might be responsible for! Half of the book is a history of knitting, the other half is a collection of knitting patterns and it all comes with a whole lot of inspiration for social knitalongs. The second book I opened is Knitivity – instructions to knit all the characters in a Nativity scene complete with the story and props to make the scenery. Very cute characters, and the basic dolls could be dressed up in other costumes. Plus, I do love a good cheesy pun! The last book I received was The Liberty Book of Home Sewing. Most of my sewing is dress-making so it will be nice to branch out and make some pretty things for my little flat.

thread spool 236

Finally, I bought myself a little sewing related gift in the sales – it is a spool to hold my earphones! Practical and pretty 🙂 Tomorrow I will tell you my new year craft goals and how I plan to make the most of these lovely presents in the new year…