Retro Recipe #3 – Scone Base Pizza

 

 

retro recipes

I thought it was time for another Retro Recipe but couldn’t think of a good enough excuse for cake so flicked through my Grandma’s binder looking for something savoury. Most of the recipes she collected were cakes and puddings and sweets (is that where I get my sweet tooth from?) and I was about to give up when I found this…

recipe

 

I made this exactly as written, although with a little less cheese (3oz looked like plenty to me). It was a very simple recipe (only used a bowl, a chopping board, a frying pan and a baking tray so simple washing up too) so there is not much for me to add.

pizza dough

The most time-consuming prep was frying the onions.

onions

 

I went for classic “Herbs de Provence” and salt and black pepper for seasoning.

cheese

 

I did change the recipe slightly and added the end of a jar of red pesto to half of the base before adding the toppings.

before

 

Cooked at 190ºC fan oven for approx 20 minutes.

after

 

Due to all the moisture from the onions I couldn’t tell if the scone base was done, but turning it over revealed a well cooked bottom.

crispy bottom

 

dinner time

This was really quick and simple to make, and used ingredients I had already in the house. I kept the recipe simple with cheese, onion and tomato but I think it would work well with a variety of other toppings (or flavoured scone bases) or maybe as mini-pizzas. The half with pesto had a bit more flavour, but both sides were pretty yummy and satisfying straight from the oven. I will try and remember this when I have no food in the fridge and need a quick supper – why don’t you try it for Sunday afternoon teatime?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

