#imapiece

Last week I read about the  #imapiece Craftivist Jigsaw Project. Tilly featured a guest blog from Sarah who is organising it, and who I have been emailing about how to give my piece to my MP. The project is asking crafters to use their craft skills as a way of getting politicians to take notice. The UK is hosting the G8 summit this year and so Save the Children want David Cameron to address the issue of world hunger. Every hour of everyday 260 children die as a result of malnutrition; it causes a third of all child deaths. A third. That is a scary amount.

#I'mapiece

Save the Children want world leaders invest in life-saving interventions to prevent malnutrition. Things like adding vitamins and minerals to staple foods,  promoting healthy behaviours to reduce spread of disease and educating communities about the benefits of breastfeeding (1.3 million children’s lives would be saved if all babies are breastfed for the first six months). Reading statistics like that and the simple solutions made me want to get involved so here are my pieces of the puzzle.

#I'mapiece three

So the message I chose to embroider was by Mary Anne Radmacher and says:

“Courage doesn’t always roar.

Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow.”

(Well, just the first four words, for ease of embroidery).

#I'mapiece black and white

I chose it because, as a quiet person myself, it reminds me that you do not have to be loud or shouting to be courageous; everyone can have courage and sometimes it is the quietest people who can be most courageous.

#I'mapiece green

I think it fits with the message of the project. Campaigning for worthy causes doesn’t have to be about shouting in the streets (something I would never feel confident to do) but hopefully enough little voices can  have the same impact.

#I'mapiece orange

 

3 thoughts on “#imapiece

Leave a Reply

