Black and White and Red All Over Quilt (part 1)

What is black and white and red all over? Nope, it isn’t a newspaper, a penguin covered in ketchup, or any other classic joke punchlines… it will be my next quilt!

I signed up to the free Craftsy Block of the Month series and decided to go for the 2012 BOM instead of the current 2013 course. I had searched for images of both quilts and really preferred the 2012 design; the uniformly sized blocks should provide some structure  and calm to busy prints (and I don’t have to wait until the end of the year to complete it).

PicMonkey Collage

I started this a couple of months ago, and recently returned to it as a quick project after my couture jacket; some of the pairs of blocks can be cut and sewn in an evening.

The first blocks I made were two slashed blocks:

Craftsy BOM 008bThe Asterisk Block

Craftsy BOM 009bThe Wonky Pound Sign (or #hash-tag)

These two blocks were really quick and easy to make, with minimal measuring and cutting, and I think just using 2 fabrics will really make an impact in the final quilt. To make these blocks you start with a square and strips of contrast fabric, slash the block into two, join with a strip along the join, and repeat. Easy-peasy.

Stay tuned for more BOM updates over the next few weeks, while I take a rest from intense sewing!

 

One thought on “Black and White and Red All Over Quilt (part 1)

  1. Great work so far! I have my 2012 blocks completed and the quilt is basted together, but I haven’t finished quilting it! I’m not a great quilter. I wish I were, but I can make great blocks! I signed up for the 2013 BOM at Craftsy before the project was revealed and I think the 2012 quilt was much cuter too! Best of luck! Can’t wait to see how you proceed!

Leave a Reply

