Black and White and Red All Over Quilt (part 5)

I have just ONE block left out of the twenty needed for this quilt, so I need to get a move on with these posts.

The next blocks I am going to show you are Dresden blocks. I had read in the Craftsy comments that the printable template wasn’t quite right so I made my own; I folded a piece of paper around a centre point until I had 16 segments, then I added seam allowance onto one part to make my template. Easy. To make the classic Dresden you sew the top of each blade so it folds to form a nice-finished point, then sew them all together, and cover the centre with a circle. It is fairly straightforward but has a big impact.

Craftsy BOM 003bTraditional Dresden Plate Block

Craftsy BOM 005b

Modern Dresden Wheel Block

This modern block doesn’t have points and has a smaller centre-circle. I LOVE the combination of fabrics I used for this block! It really pops but might be a bit too bold for a whole quilt! I tried really hard to get the straight lines on the print straight with the template, but a few look a bit wonky in this picture (but it will disappear when it is quilted, right?!)

I didn’t hand sew either onto the backing fabric; the first one was attached using two rows of straight-stitch and the second was attached with zig-zag stitch.

Other posts in the series:
Part 1 – Slashed Blocks 
Part 2 – Half-Square Triangles
Part 3 – Nine-Patch Blocks
Part 4 – Star Blocks

Leave a Reply

