By Hand London Victoria Blazer

victoria

So I finally jumped on the By Hand London bandwagon, and can’t believe I didn’t do so sooner. I’ve met the By Hand girls on a couple of blogger meet-ups and they are so tall, slim and stylish I just didn’t think I would suit their patterns. Then at a Spoolette gathering at SewDixieLou’s house we all played dress-up in her Victoria Blazer and I was convinced (despite Claire’s version being many sizes smaller than mine would be). One birthday wishlist later and here I am, a By Hand London convert (garment number two is in production as we speak!)

blazer

My version is made in some lovely stretch black “posh cotton coat” that I got from another Claire at the latest Goldhawk Road meet-up and with black and white star cotton lining/cuffs/collar. I followed the pattern instructions as written (adding french seams to the sleeves) and used a left-over scrap of stripy bias-binding to finish the arm-hole seam. When finished I hand-sewed the lining armhole to the outer-jacket (on the train at 8am, getting very funny looks from other travellers).
blazer details

I was on the train to visit a friend in Newcastle. One of our day trips was to the beach and a paddle in the refreshing North Sea. I was excited to have a real photographer and a proper location to get photos and I gave her instructions of the look I was after: SewBusyLizzy style gazing into the distance at the beach (see her first 2 versions of ByHandLondon’s Anna dress).

So there is Lizzy in WINTER (photo from her super blog) and here is me in SUMMER…

blazer back

Hmmm… despite being the middle of August, the North Sea doesn’t look quite as lovely as the Australian beach does it? It was definitely weather for sleeves (over another unblogged self-drafted tee).

blazer front

I must make sure I thank my friend H and her little 3 month old assistant.

baby toes

13 thoughts on “By Hand London Victoria Blazer

  1. I’m so glad that you have given By Hand London patterns a go! I think they are amazingly versatile and seem to transform and look different on everrybody.
    I’m so pleased to see an English beach – I was beginning to feel like every other blogger was land locked 🙂
    Now what’s next? Elisalex or Anna?
    xox

    • Yes, the patterns are so well designed and drafted. Fabric for next project is almost dry so hopefully can show you all this week…

      Can you believe this was my first sea-side trip in 2 years! I am pretty land-locked (unless you count the Thames)

  2. Oh wow! I’m so loving your Victoria blazer. I really like the longer length, it gives it such nice lines. And the stars, polka dots and stripes? Inspired! Great combo. I heard about Clare’s Spoolette party when she came for a visit. Fun 🙂 . Love your pics! I think wer’re all hard pressed to compete with the Australian shore.

  3. I love your version, I haven’t seen many of the longer lenght. The more I see the Victoria blazer the more I think I ought to join the bandwagon. Great shot of the beach too, I haven’t been to the sea in so long.

  4. That’s a great blazer. I got it for the sew-a-long but procrastinated over which fabric to use so it’s just sitting in the living room waiting to get started now. I do love those By Hand patterns, so chic.

  5. I love the blazer… I want the pattern but will have to wait. Sigh. I just made up my first Anna- so pretty and definitely easy. Those By Hand London Ladies know how to make a pattern. ~Laurie

  6. I’m going leave the beach comparision issue alone as I live in Sydney 10 mins from Bondi Beach and I don’t want you to get jealous 😉

    This looks so good! I haven’t seen any solid blacks yet, I’m planning a black linen number when I get around to it, still undecided on the lining, yours looks great though a small polka dot is the perfect match. The bias binding is a nice touch too.

Leave a comment